She’s Coming Home!!

Yesterday was one of those moments where life itself seemed to be coming full circle.

DJ and I had just left my classroom where we spent 5 hours cleaning.

Cleaning out 6 years of total focus on the kiddos I taught each year.

It seemed like a lifetime as I went through all the many papers, activities and lessons.

After we put the last few things in the car and got ready to leave, it felt as if I was driving away from the past and into a new fresh purpose….Stay-at-Home Momma-hood.

My dream since I was a little girl was to be like my Mom and stay at home with my children. Although DJ and I discussed, prayed and thought through the decision for me to quit working, it still felt like unknown territory.

But God makes Himself known in the midst of the unknown.

DJ and I decided that we were going to celebrate the end of a journey and the start of this new one after getting in the car. Where else do you celebrate but at an eating establishment? 🙂

As we were eating and discussing how much longer we thought it would be until we traveled to pick up our girl, we received an email…..Tentative Travel Dates!!!

We couldn’t have got the news at a better time!

winnie the pooh

So now, where can you find us?

Booking hotels, preparing a shower honoring our girl, finishing Haddie Joy’s room and counting the days until we leave!

We have been given the tentative board meeting date of March 4th which means we will travel the 3rd week in February. YES, next month!!

March 4th just happens to be the day we were matched with her 365 days ago 🙂

What does the itinerary look like?

Tentatively (absolutes with travel are never 100%), we would travel to our daughter’s orphanage and meet her the first week we are there and then travel to Thailand’s capital, Bangkok to complete her adoption. Then, we would travel home around March 10th.

More specific details to come but just know that the official prep has started!

As this New Year began, I kept thinking about chapter 43 in Isaiah starting in verse 14,

“This is what the Lord says—
your Redeemer, the Holy One of Israel:
“For your sake I will send to Babylon
and bring down as fugitives all the Babylonians,[b]
in the ships in which they took pride.

I am the Lord, your Holy One,
Israel’s Creator, your King.”

This is what the Lord says—
he who made a way through the sea,
a path through the mighty waters,

who drew out the chariots and horses,
the army and reinforcements together,
and they lay there, never to rise again,
extinguished, snuffed out like a wick:

“Forget the former things;
do not dwell on the past.

See, I am doing a new thing!
Now it springs up; do you not perceive it?
I am making a way in the wilderness
and streams in the wasteland.”

I felt Him yesterday speaking verse 19 directly to me, “See I am doing a new thing!”

He alone can create newness. He alone can create a family where a family seemed impossible. He alone can take a little girl in Thailand and a broken couple in West Virginia and create something new and beautiful!

So, more details to come but know that our God has made a way and we’re going to get our little girl! And our hearts could not be more excited!!

Hadassah Joy is coming home!!

 

Leave a comment